She travels “the Road Not Taken”

As I prepare to go back to work after my one month off, I spent a few hours today going through some old files. I came across few lesson plans that I had not seen in about 5 years. One lesson involved my 6th grade English students analyzing the Robert Frost poem “The Road Not taken”. While I read through the file and thought about my former students, my thoughts turned to Sarah Palin and her family. I thought, she really does travel the road not taken! If you have not read Frost’s poem, I provided it below. Pay close attention to his description of the two roads and equate these with the way Sarah Palin has lived her life and how she has gone about making a career in politics.

“TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth; 5
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same, 10
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back. 15
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”

(Source: http://www.bartleby.com/119/1.html)

She hasn’t done anything in her life the easy way by traveling the road others have. She has stood up to her own party and even blown the whistle on the Alaska Republican Party Chairman not knowing if it would end her career before she really got started. That was not easy nor was it popular. She took on the oil companies and was able to secure more money for her beloved state, and now she has done what others condemn, the GOP beltway and other Washington elites believe this is the death of her, she stepped aside to avoid costing her state money when she could not do her job.

As part of the assignment I gave to my students, they had to draw a picture of each road and explain to me which road they would have taken and why. I wish I still had some of those pictures to share with you. Each student usually drew the road “taken” as pretty, green grass with a nice path for people to walk. The road “not taken” normally involved rocks, deep holes, fallen trees, and branches reaching across the road. Needless to say, the road not taken was not an easy one, traveling this road would require determination, dedication, and a true understanding of self in order to survive the trip. Sarah Palin is on that road not traveled by other politicians. She is not bound to the elitists and is not afraid of the main stream media. And it is the fact that she is traveling on the road, that no other could, that members of both parties are deathly afraid of what will happen when she reaches the end of her journey. She has the strength of heart and mind to stay the course and I am proud to say that I support her efforts and applaud her abilities. I am just one of the many who are in her corner and waiting for her to give us our march orders.

20

One Response

  1. Great blog, keep up the good work.

    We can expect stepped up attacks on Gov. Palin now that 0bama’s numbers are dropping, and he’s having trouble ramming through his agenda. 0bama’s media minions will do everything they can to distract attention from 0bama’s failings, by attacking the person with the highest profile in the GOP, and that is Sarah Palin. I haven’t heard one peep out of them regarding Romney, Huckabee, Gingrich or Pawlenty.

    It’s going to be tough going, but I believe she is up to the fight, and we, her supporters, have to be ready to fight, too.

    Be sure to watch the “EthicsGate” video which shows the close working relationship between the anti-Palin bloggers, “ethics” complaint filers, the AK dem party, and members of the 0bama administration. The bloggers and dems tried to supress the video, and were successful for a time, but it’s now back on YouTube, and several blogs have posted it as well.

    Also, read the story of the unmasking of one of the most vile of the Alaska bloggers:

    http://rsmccain.blogspot.com/2009/08/mommy-why-does-my-kindergarten-teacher.html

Leave a Reply

